Hooray!

So I ended up getting the job. Huge sigh of relief! I was a nervous wreck yesterday, I was so nervous my hands were shaking while I was getting ready in the morning. Once I got there though, and saw the group of people I was interviewing with, I felt at ease. Well, as “at ease” as you can feel on a job interview. We were all asked questions from the HR guy, and two different supervisors. After all that was done they left us all alone in the room to go discuss who would make the cut. Mind  you pretty much everyone gets hired at this place. There is a very high turn over rate at this company, so they pretty much constantly have to hire. Everyone in town jokes that “everyone and their mom” has worked for this company, LOL! None the less, it was nerve wracking knowing you could still possibly be on the cutting block!

The HR guy came back and pulled one girl out. She never came back, bad sign. I am not surprised she wasn’t hired, her personality, and what she was wearing, wasn’t really appropriate for that sort of work environment. I did feel sorry for her though. Next, two young kids were pulled out, and were hired despite their massive scheduling issues. I was pulled out next. The HR guy looked at me and said “What’s wrong? Are you nervous?” I thought I was hiding it well, but obviously not. I answered “Yes.” and he told me “Don’t be nervous at all, you did a fantastic job!”

I, of course, was hired and was the only one in our group to get to choose what account I wanted to work for. I chose their cosmetics account, because I used those products for many years, are in love with them, and know I can sell them if I have to. I don’t know why I was the only one to get to choose where I worked, I want to think it’s because I’m special! Everyone else got assigned to an account that would have been a deal breaker for me, so I am very grateful for where I ended up.

I start next Thursday, and in the mean time I am going to have to re-set my body clock. I am NOT a morning person, and unfortunately I am scheduled for training for 2 weeks from 7 am-2:30 pm. So that means I have to leave the house by  6:30 am to get to work on time. Sigh, so a 5 or 5:30 am wake up time, it’s going to be brutal. But on the plus side I get off everyday at 2:30, so I have some time to do what I want in the afternoon. I want to say a nap, but I want to be able to sleep at night, so maybe not, ha ha.

For now I am going to enjoy my last week as a non-working girl, celebrate my success, and gear up for my new job. It will be challenging for me, but that is good, it helps me grow as a human being and as a person. I hope that this job ends up being low stress enough that I could eventually go back to school, probably in the spring, to get my Masters in Library Science. We’ll see how it plays out. For now I am thrilled to have a job, and soon an income. I finally want to put my plans in action for how I want my life to be. I am looking forward to this new chapter in my life. It’s a stepping stone for where I want to really be, but that’s the only way to get where you really want to go, to start somewhere and work your way up. Here’s to being employed!

2 thoughts on “Hooray!

Leave a Reply

