What’s Old is New Again!

Change. Sometimes people hate it, and despise it, while  other times it is welcomed into one’s life. At this point in my life I feel it is time to embrace it. I have been feeling down lately, not really feeling at my greatest. Enter the grand idea that I needed something to pull myself out of my funk…CHANGE! I began to brainstorm what I could do to make myself feel better. I thought the easiest way was to first start with some external changes.

One thing I new was that my wardrobe dearly needed help. Shabby, old, and well-worn was basically what I had. Time for some new clothes, and ones that make me feel fabulous. So scouring this awesome second hand store in a nearby town I found some key pieces that made me feel really good in my own skin. It’s been a long time since I felt great in my clothes. I wanted a new style, one that made me feel pretty, and that was different than what I have been wearing. A beautiful perfect fitting plum colored sweater, great fitting hip jeans, and several different cardigans, all classy and make me look good. I have actually been getting compliments on my clothes. Talk about basking in the glow of my greatness (not to toot my own horn or anything!)

Next up my hair. I have always wanted very long hair. Unfortunately, I never make it much further than a little past my shoulders due to the fact that I have extremely thick hair. Were talking major stretch-out -your-pony-tail-holder-thick hair. It gets to be smothering when it gets long, so what happens you may ask? I cut it into a shorter bob. The “bob” has always been my go to hairstyle.

Now here is where my dysfunctional thinking and actions regarding my hair begins. I start to think “I really want long hair,” so I begin to grow it out again. The result…it gets long but ends up in a ponytail everyday because it is too hot, and too much work to blow dry and straighten.

So here is the next “change” decision I decided to make, to go short. Not bob short, but completely new hairstyle short. Mandy Moore’s haircut at the right is the hairstyle change I chose. Living in a new town I didn’t even know where to start looking for a hairdresser. So after a patron came into the library and I looked at her fabulous (and I mean FABULOUS) looking hair, I asked who her hairdresser was. Two people had told me that this hairdresser is good, so I went into my appointment fairly confident that I would walk out with nice hair. But ladies when we go to a new stylist don’t we always fear hair that is uneven, too short, or severely unflattering. Believe me I had been praying on this one. “Please let me not walk out of the salon with a head of hair that people will point and laugh at” (which probably, in reality, doesn’t happen, but I fear that it does.)

The end result of my haircut? As I watched my shoulder length hair get cut mid ear length, and the back shaped so there is barely any hair there, I panicked a bit. “What have I done?” was running through my head, as well as prayers to make sure the scary sight I was currently involved in would turn out good. No, hopefully great. After all that’s what I was aiming for.

I will inform you, yes, it did. The hairstylist was in fact amazing, and gave me a great cut. After the first day of slightly feeling uncomfortable because my new hair was so short, but receiving compliment after compliment from people, I knew I had made the right choice. I have been told I look more sophisticated, younger, my teeth look whiter (that was a bit confusing, but welcomed,) along with countless other flattering remarks. The best one of all was I got told twice that it made my face look thinner. What woman doesn’t want to be told that? The ease of styling it, along with all the compliments, has made me wonder why I didn’t do this years ago!

So change has been very good to me recently. I am happy, feel more self-confident, and pretty so the changes I decided to make in my life right now are positive. External change was just what I needed to change my internal feelings. Does that make me fear whatever change may be coming around the corner next? Yes, but for now I will revel in what good this change has brought me, and try and remember that while some change can make you unhappy, other change can make you very, very happy.

4 thoughts on “What’s Old is New Again!

  1. Sure! I think change you are usually forced into is the painful kind, but when you make a choice to change it may be difficult at times, but can make you happier easier. Just my thoughts. 🙂

  2. Hi, thanks for checking me out and following! I am envious of your courage with hair styles. I have had basically the same one my entire life! I’m glad you’re happy with your decision and you had a brill stylist!

Leave a Reply

