Laugh and Play

Laugh and play: I can honestly say I don’t laugh or play often enough. In fact, I don’t really laugh that much. I would love to have a really good belly laugh on a regular basis, but I am just not that type of person. The only exception is when I am around my brother. He is the only one who can make me laugh extremely hard, at the stupidest stuff!

For example, one Christmas when he was visiting we went to the city and were going to Hobby Lobby. There was a giant billboard with a picture of Santa in his sleigh, drinking a Coke in the parking lot. My brother made some stupid joke about it, and we instantly both cracked up. It was one of those instances where you get one person laughing, and you can’t stop laughing because they are too.

We hysterically laughed from inside the car as we parked, walking through the parking lot, and even into the store. Finally my mom got frustrated and told us to separate. We still laughed as we parted, and laughed some more when we could still hear each other. Tears were streaming down my face, and I had lost my breath. To this day I remember how fun that was, and how happy it made me feel. I will never forget that night.

I don’t know why he has this gift to make me laugh, but I love him dearly because of it. I wish I lived closer to him so I could laugh more often, and be near his wonderful sense of humor. I am extremely excited to go home for Christmas and get to see him. Laughter is on it’s way!

I obviously need to make more of an effort to be more carefree, and less straight laced. I do enjoy hanging out with my best friend, watching movies and having girl talk. But I would love something different, more exciting. Maybe go to the park and swing on the swings, dance in my living room to loud music, put together a puzzle, jump on my bed, play a game, have a party at my apartment. Perhaps once in awhile forget for a little while that I am an adult.

I need to let go, and embrace a carefree nature. I would say most all of us need to do that. Take time to let our inner child out and let them play. Laugh everyday, even if it is at yourself. Play at least once a week to keep your mind, body, and soul in good shape. Live, laugh, love, play.

Leave a Reply

