Celebrate and Appreciate

With what stress I have been feeling lately I find it ironic that this is what I am writing about today. It is something that I should certainly think about. As I get older, and time moves by faster and faster, I realize it is important to appreciate each moment in our lives.

Yes, I’m stressed now, but look, the sun is shining outside! This is a time to celebrate! It has been dark, dreary, and rainy here for days and days. I have never had problems with overcast weather until I moved here to Iowa. Dark days, end on end, causes me to feel dreary just like the weather. Imagine my joy (not!) when this week it snowed slightly. This means fall, my favorite short lived season, is on it’s way out, and a hard Iowa winter is on it’s way. But I choose to focus on the  present and celebrate, and appreciate the beautiful sunshine spilling in through my windows, and the now bare tree outside swaying in the wind. Simply glorious!

 Life is an amazing gift. We are amazing beings full of potential and greatness. Sometimes we choose not to use our gifts, and drift off the positive path of life. Some come back, some don’t. I believe we are who we choose to be. I choose to be the smart, shy, introverted, library loving, family oriented, loving, hopeful person that I am. I hope you choose to be the unique person that you are. Remember there is no one exactly like you, nor is their someone exactly like me. Celebrate and appreciate life, and yourself. You only live once so make the most of it!

I have been branching out in my music choices lately and decided to try listening to some Christian music. I chose tobyMac’s new album “Eye on It” because I like the beat and sound of their music. I found their song “Speak Life”  especially inspiring and thought I would share it’s lyrics with you. Perhaps it will inspire you to celebrate and appreciate life no matter what your circumstances.

Speak Life” by tobyMac

Somedays life feels perfect
Other days it just ain’t workin
The good, the bad, the right, the wrong
And everything in between

Though it’s crazy, amazing
We can turn our hearts with the words we say
Mountains crumble with every syllable
Hope can live or die

So speak Life, speak Life
Through the deadest darkest night
Speak Life, Speak Life
When the sun won’t shine and you don’t know why
Look into the eyes of the brokenhearted
Watch them come alive as soon as you speak hope
You speak love, you speak…
You speak Life, You speak Life

Some days the tongue gets twisted
Other days my thoughts just fall apart
I do, I don’t, I will, I won’t
It’s like I’m drowning in the deep

Well it crazy to imagine
Words from our lips as the arms of compassion
Mountains crumble with every syllable
Hope can live or die

So speak Life, speak Life
Through the deadest darkest night
Speak Life, Speak Life
When the sun won’t shine and you don’t know why
Look into the eyes of the brokenhearted
Watch them come alive as soon as you speak hope
You speak love, you speak…
You speak Life, You speak Life

Lift your head a little higher
Spread the love like fire
Hope will fall like rain
When you speak life with the words you say

Raise your thoughts a little higher
Use your words to inspire
Trouble falls like rain
When you speak life with the things you say

Lift your head a little higher
Spread the love like fire
Hope will fall like rain
When you speak life with the words you say

So speak Life, speak Life
Through the deadest darkest night
Speak Life, Speak Life
When the sun won’t shine and you don’t know why
Look into the eyes of the brokenhearted
Watch them come alive as soon as you speak hope
You speak love, you speak…
You speak Life, You speak Life

You speak Life, You speak Life

Somedays life feels perfect

Leave a Reply

