The Attitude is Gratitude

Being grateful for your life is one of the most powerful feelings that you can have in my opinion. It has the power to change your attitude right here and now. A long time ago I read the book “The Secret” which highly encouraged positive thinking, and an attitude of gratitude. It took a lot of work to stay in this place of positive energy and gratitude, but it made such a difference in my life. I felt truly happy and hopeful. Now, if you don’t really try to stay in this place it is very easy to slip back into feeling pessimistic, anxious, and perhaps angry about our lives. But the hard work is so worth it because it improves your outlook of life so drastically.

The most powerful and quick tool to change your attitude is a gratitude list. I highly recommend this simple task, it is a quick way to make you realize just how lucky and great your life is. No matter what your circumstances are there is always something to be grateful for. I made a gratitude list this morning and it added up to thirty-eight items. The things I was grateful for consisted mainly of simple elements.

Here’s an idea of some of the things I am grateful for: My amazing, very loving family, deciding to go to the doctor yesterday instead of wait to go later in the week because come to find out I had a sinus infection and needed antibiotics, having a roof over my head, food in the fridge, and money in the bank, sleeping in my cozy bed, great friends, and my wonderful and comfortable apartment. Those are just a few things I am very grateful for. Take some time today to make a gratitude list. Feel the feelings of gratitude as you write, and hold that feeling with you for the rest of the day. I promise you will feel more positive, lighter, and happy. There is not limits for what you can say you are grateful for. It could be as simple as “I am alive.” Just try to achieve the attitude of gratitude.

Leave a Reply

