Simplify

Simplicity, it makes life so much easier and better. I am happy to say that I believe I live a pretty simple life. It is a concept that has been passed down to me from my parents. I enjoy simplicity, am content, and can’t think of what living a life of excess would be like. With a simple life I think you learn to truly appreciate what you do have, and be happy with who you are.

I am always grateful for what I have because I know how hard I worked to get what I wanted. This makes life so much more enjoyable and meaningful. I am grateful right now at this moment for sitting in my warm apartment, watching the flat screen television that I paid for in cash. Yes it isn’t big, but I am proud that I worked for the money to buy it. I drive a 2005 Toyota Carolla, which I am very happy with. It has 120,000 miles on it, but I am just plain grateful to have a car that has only been in the shop once in the 3 years I have owned it. No fancy rims, or leather, heated seats, or GPS. Simple, but gets me where I need to go. My biggest luxury that I’m spoiled with is a six disc CD changer, I must say I do love that!

Holiday’s have always been simple in my family. At Thanksgiving we would all watch the Macy’s day parade on T.V.  Dinner was simple and consisted of a turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, yams, rolls, and two different types of cranberry sauces. When it was time to eat we would go around the table and each say something we were thankful for, and at the end toast to our good life. I look forward to having Thanksgiving at my house this year with just me and my dad. It will be my first ever thanksgiving dinner that I have made, lets just hope it turns out! All that matters though is that I have my dad’s company, and that we have to of course participate in our annual tradition of watching “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles.” John Candy can always make the Holiday’s happy! “While you Where Sleeping” may be thrown in there as well.

Christmas has always been simple  for us as well. As children we had gifts under the tree, but not in an excessive amount. My mom when we where children made us handmade giant stockings, decorated with Disney characters and sequins. Ever since I have found stockings more fun than gifts under the tree. As me and my brother have gotten older our family has had Christmas’s where we only filled stockings. We would draw names, and go to the favorite local discount store, or dollar store, and pick out items to fill that person’s stalking with. What fun it is, and it was more from the heart, not from the pocket. It has also been a holiday tradition since I was little to put a donation in the Salvation Army bucket outside of stores every Christmas.

I have always loved receiving handmade things also. My mom is a wonderful crafter, and I have received many amazing handmade gifts over the years. One of my favorites is a plush advent calendar, but there are too many to choose from. I have them all packed away in my storage closet, just waiting to make their yearly appearance. I am chomping at the bit to decorate my home for Christmas. I think this is because this is my first Christmas in my very own place. I can’t wait to decorate my own home. Yes, I will be going back home to Colorado for Christmas and will be gone for ten days, so I figure I should decorate early so I can thoroughly enjoy it. I look forward to a simple Christmas in Fort Collins as well. Getting to see my mom and brother, and also to see friends I haven’t seen in two years or more.

With the holiday’s coming around I ask you to think of something you can simplify. I promise that if you simplify your life whether now during the holiday’s, or any other time, you will feel happier and lighter. We honestly don’t need fancy things to be happy, I am sure you can think of one simple thing that you do, and I encourage you to enjoy it’s feeling of simplicity, and perhaps even adopt more simplicity in your life. I promise you will be pleased with the results.

4 thoughts on “Simplify

Leave a Reply

