Life Currently

It’s been far too long since I have actually written a blog I just thought I would quick fill you in on what’s going on in my life. I guess I could say not much as usual. I am in countdown to vacation mode. I get giddy after every shift I finish at work. I am now down to 10 days. I work 9-1 tomorrow, have Sunday off, work all of next week, have the weekend off, work Monday, then am officially on vacation! So I am incredibly close! I am getting cranky, people are annoying me more than usual. I chock it up to needing a break, and BAD! I am just praying I make it, which I will, but vacation can’t come fast enough.

My flight is at 7 a.m. on the 19th in Sioux Falls, which is over an hour away. I have decided to pull an all nighter. I figure I am going to have to get up at like 2 a.m., so what’s the point of trying to sleep. I decided I’ll stay up as late as possible the night before, and sleep in as late as I want the day before my trip. So basically really screw up my body clock.

I am trying to come up with what caffeinated drinks I will be using. I have never tried Red Bull, so I figure this may be a good occasion. And there is Starbucks double shot espresso energy drinks, that doesn’t sound too bad either. I figure I can sleep on the plane (yeah, probably not,) or on the shuttle (again, probably not.) It should be an experience. I will get into Fort Collins at 10:30 a.m., so plenty of time for a nap. I will probably be so psyched sleep may not seem that important. It should be an adventure, that along with all that goes with traveling through the airport and flying.

So far I am still suffering with my hands. Well I guess you could say my hands, wrists, forearms, elbows, and upper arms. So far this pain has been much worse than before. I had been dreading it, but I talked to my boss today about it. My last bought of this last spring was covered by workman’s comp, so she placed a call to the city to check into if my case was still open, or if they have to start a new one. The city administrator is hard to get a hold of so I am going to have to keep at it to make sure she gets a hold of him. In the mean time she told me to cut back on shelving. That is only one part of the problem though. It is incredibly hard for me to stand up for myself, so this is challenging me on many levels. Very stressful. Plus I go on vacation so soon. Hopefully that should help sooth the irritation, but it won’t fix the problem. I never did see a doctor, only an occupational therapist nurse who referred me to physical therapy, which was where I was then given a diagnosis . So I have basically have no true medical idea of what is going on. That is why I am going to press for a Dr. visit. Hopefully I can find out what exactly is going on, and that will give me a little relief mentally, and hopefully we can find a medical solution. But meanwhile I am in constant pain, unlike last time. Sigh, the cost of using my hands avidly in my job for almost 3 1/2 years. I just want some relief, hopefully we can get there soon.

We had snow for the first time today! I was in the library and it was so beautiful watching the big fat white flakes fly by the window and settle on the ground. It snowed maybe an inch. We have had weather in the 30’s, 40’s, and 50’s so far, so it felt like winter now that we have been christened with snow. This is my first winter living in the town where I work, so snow doesn’t bother me anymore. It’s a quick drive to work on the highway right from my apartment, so I have no concerns. I won’t miss that 18 mile drive, in sometimes treacherous conditions, and the days of missed work. I just hope for my trip that the weather holds out and is cooperative. That is my biggest wish and concern right now trip wise.

So that’s about the most exciting stuff going on in my life right now. Trip exciting, hands pain in the ass. But what is good without the bad?

2 thoughts on “Life Currently

    • Yeah, it will go by fast. My Saturday’s usually zoom by, and I work with one my favorite coworkers tomorrow. Plus having next weekend off doesn’t really count because I get to be at home and can prepare. I know about the hands thing! I never realized how much I depend on them until they start to hurt. Now off to bed with ice on my hands for me!

Leave a Reply

